Nothing Like a Good Romance Anime

There is something about romance anime. Maybe it isn’t even the anime, but the romance portrayed in it. You see there are very few anime that hit close to real life. Even if you watch a slice of life genre anime everything is extremely exaggerated. From the perfect anime girls and guys, the relationships, school life etc. Granted I don’t live in Japan, but my guess is I highly doubt that this is how life is over there. So I believe that is why so many anime viewers are drawn towards the romance genre, the hyper-exaggeration of life, people, relationships etc. However, we as humans like to create alternate realities, we know they aren’t real, we know they’re just pretend, but don’t movies, books, video games, and other such things have the same effect? But if for a brief moment, we live in them! That being said, it doesn’t mean you can’t find your happiness in real life! I am happily married and in love and couldn’t be happier, don’t let it consume you! That being said, we still love our anime, so lets jump right into it!

Today I am recommending 5 anime where the relationship develops over the course of the series. Anticipation is one of the best things. When you are dating someone and you really like them, you can’t wait for that first kiss. All those hours spent together leading up to this one pivotal moment! You start with the getting to know each other, where you are from, likes and dislikes. Then you start going out doing activities together where you casually but obviously start holding hands. After finally getting to know each other, creating that relationship, that kiss comes with such impact and emotion that you feel the sparks flying everywhere. I mean just reading this paragraph felt like the anticipation was enough, onto the recommendations (video trailer of all anime at the bottom)!

  1. Ef – A tale of Melodies

Ef (let’s call it that for short) follows 3 separate relationships. You might think that is a bit much, but they are actually all intertwined. There are 2 sisters and a priestess. I won’t give any more than that. These 3 individuals go through their own difficulties to obtain love. One works through a difficulty that prevents her from loving, one is trying to win the heart of her love, while one is waiting to be reunited with her love. I thought this was going to be stupid and the first couple of episodes had me like “whaaa” but it ended up being amazing and I loved it!

2. Kamisama Kiss (Hajimemashita)

So this one is about a girl who ends up homeless, meets a god, then the god gives her his power and then she becomes a god, and then, like, she meets a fox demon who becomes her familiar and is the caretaker of the girls new shrine (because she’s a god now) and they end up, well, their story is interesting, you need to watch this one, it has romance, a slight bit of action, and is super funny.

3. My Love Story!!

If you haven’t watched this yet, stop whatever anime you are currently watching and go watch this. I don’t care if there is a new episode of One Piece, or a new season of your favorite anime just came out, go watch it! I don’t even want to share anything about this one because it is so good!

4. Maid Sama

a poor but brilliant girl is the student council president and always has a busy schedule. She is pretty feared and loved at the same time due to her attacks on people who are goofing off and her desire to help. Though her home life isn’t bad, as before mentioned she is poor, so, after leaving school and making sure she wasn’t followed or seen, she changes into her…maid uniform! That’s right she is a maid! “Hello master, how may I serve you today?” Apart from that, she is beautiful, calling the attention of one of the most rambunctious boys in school. Their relationship is super fun to see develop. It is a situation of I don’t have time for boys or myself, but I really like this guy, so what do I do?

5. Yamada’s First Time

Well, let’s put it like this, there is a girl who just entered high school, and for whatever reason, she wants to be a floozy and sleep with 100 guys. Why? I don’t know. She is a virgin though and she wants her first time to be with a virgin. She is beautiful and smart, yet the guy she wants to do it with first just won’t crack…

Below is a preview of everything I just mentioned from my YouTube channel (give it a like and subscribe, or don’t either is cool) and the link to all the animes are in the titles above!

5 thoughts on “Nothing Like a Good Romance Anime

  1. Great list of romance, Romance anime is ma Jam. Only I’ve not seen on this list is Ef tale of memories and melodies. I own the god damn series finally this year I’ll actually watch the thing.

    Like

    1. Thank you! And you really should, it is super good after about episode 2! If you have any recommendations let me know! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment